Instagram is one of the most popular social platforms in the world. It was created in 2010 and was initially used only for sharing square photos with close friends. In 20 years, Instagram has evolved into a large community with its trends and influencers. Instagram found a new stream of e-commerce and changed the marketing strategies of big and small brands. Nowadays, it is challenging to find a person who does not know about it and does not have an account. But with all the fun comes the potential for inappropriate behavior and cybercrime. Let’s explore the key principles of staying safe and secure on Instagram.

Enable Two-Factor Authentication

You should always concern to Safe And Secure On Instagram

If you are panic about someone hacking into your account without your consent and posting it on Instagram, it is essential to set up authentication (2 FA) for two reasons. After you enter your password and require a second type of authentication, even if a hacker has your password, your account will not be able to access your account without physical access.

To set it up, go to your profile and tap the hamburger icon (). In the Settings menu (pop-up on iOS, bottom-to-right on Android) select Security> Two-factor authentication> Click Start. You can then choose to set up 2 FA via SMS or an independent authentication app such as Google Authenticator.

Recovery codes will come if your phone has connectivity issues and can’t get an SMS security code. Go to Settings> Security> Two Factor Authentication> Recovery Code and use the access code shown.

Don’t Get Phished

To help users distinguish between fake emails and official Instagram correspondence, Instagram launches the “Email from Instagram” tab, allowing anyone to check if an “email from Instagram” is authentic. Features can be found in Settings> Security> Email from Instagram.

The “Security” tab shows a list of emails sent to you by Instagram in the last 14 days about the security of your account and the places you have accessed. The second tab, labeled “Other,” shows the rest of Instagram’s emails sent to you simultaneously.

Check Login Activity

You can stay tuned for hackers by going to Desktop Settings> Login Activities. This page shows a list of places where you are logged in with your account. You can confirm your current location and look at past activities. If you have unidentified locations, it’s a good idea to remove those devices and change your password.

Make Your Instagram Account Private

Safe And Secure On Instagram Is considerable thing  when using it.

By default, everyone on Instagram may view your photos and videos when you upload them. If you only want to connect with people you know, toggle your account through Settings> Privacy> Account Privacy and toggle to activate the personal account. When your account is private, your followers have to approve it before seeing your photos or videos. Search allows only approved followers to find your posts, view any posts you like, and send direct messages. With a personal account, Google also does not index any of your photos to Google Images.

Disable Activity Status

When you think about safety and security on Instagram here is a feature Instagram that lets people see when you are actively using the app. Look for a small green dot next to a friend’s picture in your direct message. It has to tell people to answer to a DM when online, but it can be a little aggressive when you want to be alone. Disable it by going to Settings> Privacy> Activity status and disable the option.

Block, Restrict, or Report Accounts

Report it to Instagram if someone is harassing you or uploading improper stuff. You can do this on the account profile page or directly from a single post, comment, message, or story. Tap the three dots icon () at the top right of an Instagram post or the bottom right. To record a specific idea, long-click on it (Android) or swipe left (iOS) and tap the exclamation point icon. You can also fill out a form report on the Instagram website. And also, if Instagram finds that the account, comment, or video violates its Terms of Service, the relevant account will be suspended.

By recording an account, Instagram automatically blocks the user for you. However, you can manually block the account by opening the three-dot menu of the relevant account and selecting Blocks. Instagram has also taken more targeted steps to stop harassment on stage. A new feature called Restriction hides a user’s comments and notifications if you want to stop seeing their articles and comments without ignoring or reporting them.

To activate the feature, go to Settings> Privacy> Restricted Accounts and add accounts manually. On the other hand, you can go to the user’s profile, tap the three dots icon in the upper right and select Restrict. On iOS, you can swipe left on a critique to limit it. After enabling restrictions, only that person can comment on your posts from restricted users. You can view the comment by tapping “View Comment” and then choose to approve, delete or ignore it. Specially, you will not receive any notifications for comments from a restricted account.

Remove Followers

If a follower fails to block, mute, or restrict, use the Nuclear Option:

  1. Remove them.
  2. Go to your profile and tap Followers to find the ones you want to remove.
  3. Tap the three-dot menu next to their name and tap Remove.

It is helpful when you need to personalize your account and remove followers.

Control Comments and Stories

Instagram gives you complete control over who can and cannot interact with your photos and videos. To deactivate comments for a specific post, tap the three-dot icon in the right corner of your statement and tap Disable comment. You can also block specific accounts and filter content to hide certain words or phrases under Settings> Privacy> Comments. If your account is public, choose who you can comment on (everyone, the people you follow and your followers, the people you follow, or your followers).

You may conceal your tales from particular accounts, establish message reply rights, and select whether people can share these stories under Settings> Privacy> Story.

Manage Tagged Photos

By pressing the photo icon on your profile, anyone may upload a photo of you, and you can view these images. However, you may opt-out of these postings or change your settings to require approval of tagged pictures before they show on your profile.

Go to Settings> Privacy> Tags and add automatically and then deactivate the switch. To remove individual items, tap the three-dot menu to find an image, then tap Hide Options (Android) or Photo Options (iOS). Here, you can choose to remove a tag or hide that photo from your profile. You can also tap to remove the tag from the picture or hide the photo from your profile.

Go to Settings> Privacy> Tags> Hide photographs and videos and pick all the photos you want to delete at once. To delete them from your profile, tap the eyeball icon (Android) or Hide (iOS).

Revoke Access to Third-Party Apps

Many third-party apps link to Instagram to provide additional functionality over the Internet, but it’s effortless to lose track of how many apps you’ve added to your account. Check these links through Settings> Security> Apps & Websites, where you can view active and outdated authorized applications, then remove or provide the services you need. On the web, click the Gear icon and click Authorized Applications to access the Settings menu.

Please let us know your opinions in the comments section below.

Author

I'm a freelance content writer who has written about business, lifestyle, relationships, cryptocurrency and forex and more.

Write A Comment